23
Jul
09

misc: politics, politics, and schmapples

election2008 

***  Hey everybody!  Going to do a few pages of MISC content until I get into posting “PHIL, THE EVIL BEAN OF DOOM” 8-pager I did with DAN MURPHY(www.murphycommadan.com) 15 years ago!!!–which, believe it or not, it holds up pretty damn well…you’ll find out come Monday.

***  The above image was drawn on the night of the last debate between AL FRANKEN and NORM COLEMAN (11-2-08).  Franken recently “won” after months of costly court B.S. , and having just rediscovered this doodle I’m surprised at how close I was to the truth–I predicted Franken would win by 2% and he won by only 200-some votes.  Or maybe I was just paying attention to the polls. Who knows?  The other thing about this I find equally funny is the bit about MICHELE BACHMANN losing big-time.  When I drew this I knew my buddy KEN AVIDOR had been hot on Bachmann’s heels for years at www.dumpbachmann.comtrying to expose her for the nut she is. I also knew she had FINALLY said some crazy enough stuff that was getting national exposure and  so I just sorta figured the people of Bachmann’sdistrict would get with the program and not vote her back in.  Well, I think we all know now my prediction was wrong.  I think we also know she has gone onto say more more ludicrous stuff since then.  So I’m predicting here and now she will NOT–FOR SURE THIS TIME–be re-elected in 2010.

*** The other funny part of the Bachmann drawing is that several months later I found myself being hired to work on a comic series ABOUT Michele Bachmann(which you can order the first issue of at www.biasedliberalmedia.com. Issue two will be out soon.). And THAT gig would have NEVER happened had she lost as I predicted she would!  So…uhh…thanks?  

***Theres some other news involving Bachmann and comics and me, but I’ll write more on that when I have some harder facts–I have names, just no dates–so until then consider your interest piqued!

***Finally:  Cartoonist, friend, vegan, ninja, all-around wonderful person ERIC LAPPEGARD (aka SCHMAPPLES) passed away 2 years ago now.  To celebrate his life, there will be a get-together tomorrow(FRIDAY the 24th) at GRUMPY’sDOWNTOWN from 8pm until whenever.  So if you knew Eric (and even if you didn’t so well–why not?!) stop on by and toast one to a man who loved a good drink.  I’ll leave you now witha drawing Eric did…one of the last he ever did, in fact…and it’s pretty special to me, cause this drawing was done specifically both for ME and for MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE.  See, Eric and I were gunna jam on issue 5–my FLEMING vs his VEGAN NINJA–and the following is a preparatory drawing Eric did for that(ignore all the “SCHMAPPLES TRIBUTE” info. That was in 2007—and it ROCKED!).    Miss you, Eric.

For serious---don't wait until September! That was 2007! The thing this year is FRIDAY! 8PM! GRUMPYS!

For serious---don't wait until September! That was 2007! The thing this year is FRIDAY! 8PM! GRUMPYS!

0 Responses to “misc: politics, politics, and schmapples”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


