01
Jul
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–the Super Fantastica short–pg 3(of 4), also: I’m an “Art Hound” on MPR tomorrow

pg 3

pg 3

   …Concludes Tomorrow…

We’ll get back to that page in a second, but first…

***Tomorrow on MPR (91.1FM) at 8:25am and 4:44pm I will be one of Minnesota Public Radios “ART HOUNDS”(it will also be online, and I’ll link it tomorrow when it’s up).  “ART HOUNDS” is where local artists promote local art shows that they themselves have nothing to do with, and tomorrow I will be promoting ALEX KUNO’s “SPRINGTIME FOLLIES” show at the SooVac gallery (http://www.soovac.org/ps_09_alexkuno.php). The show itself has been open since June 6th, but it runs until July 26th so if you’re in the Minneapolis Uptown area you should check it out. Or if you miss that, Alex and NICK HOWARD will be doing a delightfully creepy show called “STORY TIME” at the Rosalux Gallery in August (http://storytimenickandalex.blogspot.com/).  Enjoy the beautiful horror!

***Back to the MANLY TALES….As I mentioned on the post for page one, this story was originally a title (“THE REVENGE OF SANTA’S GHOST”) with no actual story formed in my head other than the fact it takes place in the Arctic/North Pole.  What was I to do?

    Well, a few weeks before sitting down to do this story I had finally watched “AN INCONVENIENT TRUTH” on DVD.  I had put off viewing AIT not out a sense of trying to ostrich myself about how we’ve doomed the environment, but more because while Al Gore was on the tour doing his Inconvenient speech a co-worker had mine had gone to see him here in Minneapolis.  She returned to work the next day and basically laid the whole thing out for me. Most of it I was already aware of, but some things she told me made me want to just give up on the spot.  So yeah…this stuff really depresses me.

     Anyway, when I finally got around to watching AIT on DVD it (no surprise) really bummed out.  Shortly thereafter I decided to this story.  After trying to beat around some ideas about Santa’s ghost and vengeful elves and rabid reindeer I realized: 1) This would be more than four pages (which was about all I could get done in the allotted time),  and 2) it really wasn’t working anyway.  So I had to come up with something new.  And in my post AIT depression I thought “Geez, even if there was a Santa his workshop would have probably sunk to the bottom of the Arctic Ocean by now.”  And strangely, this made me smile.  Then I remembered that during AIT I cried like a toddler who had skinned their knee during the animation of the polar bear drowning, and I realized that Fleming(despite his seemingly black heart) probably would have had the same reaction.  You throw in a frozen Captian America joke and a four page story was born!

     So I just wanna take a moment to acknowldge Al Gore and all his work( http://www.algore.com/).  I think I speak for the world when I say: “Thanks for bumming me out, man. I needed that.”

0 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–the Super Fantastica short–pg 3(of 4), also: I’m an “Art Hound” on MPR tomorrow”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


