23
Jun
09

MISC: EXPLOSIVE neighborhood news and Captain Confederacy #1 (un)covered

Captain Confederacy #1 "covered"--after Vince Stone

Captain Confederacy #1 "covered"--after Vince Stone

1) The shout-out I did in MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #1 to the Holland Neighborhood’s yearly HOTDISH REVOLUTION was shouted-back in a very nice write up which quoted heavily from this here blog. Yes, its only taken 3 years but I am now officially part of my neighborhood.  http://www.hnia.org/?p=548

2) The Lowry Bridge, a Northeast Minneapolis landmark went BOOM! over the weekend. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gogrdq4rGWQ

3) CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY #1 (UN)COVERED–  I don’t know if you’re aware of the website www.coveredblog.blogspot.com, but its a place where artists do “covers” of comic book covers, and there has been some pretty great work up there.  At this months Conspiracy jam we did some “covers”. I liked it so much a I did a few afterwards, too, and by far my favorite is CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY #1.

     For those of you unfamiliar with CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY you can read some (and I’m guessing eventually ALL) of the series at http://captainconfederacy.blogspot.com/, but heres a quick synopsis:

   Back in the late 80’s SteelDragon Press put out a 12 issue CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY series by writer WILL SHETTERLY (http://shetterly.googlepages.com/home) and artist VINCE STONE (http://www.vincestone.com/).  The series followed a government sponsored team of super heroes (and villians!) in an alternative universe where the South succeeded in seceding, splintering the US and spurning a super-powered Cold War.  The 12 issue series followed CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY as he tried to make sense of his life, his image, and his countries place in the world. ( Part one is at http://captainconfederacy.blogspot.com/2008/03/captain-confederacy-nature-of-hero.html )  In an interesting side-note, and the series also featured back-up stories called ANT BOY by mini-comics legend/First Fella of Hamtramck, Michigan MATT FEAZELL (http://home.comcast.net/~mattfeazell/index.htm).

     In the early 90’s Marvel’s EPIC line put out a 4 issue series that dealt with the world-wide super-powers issue, as seen thru the eyes of our heroes, of course. This mini-series was also by Shetterly and Stone.  (Part one is at http://captainconfederacy.blogspot.com/2008/03/book-two-page-1_22.html)
 

   So…why did I do CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY #1?
   Well, long ago when I was in eight grade I was lucky enough to spend a day skipping school so I could attend a young writers conference. In addition to the joys of state-sponsored truancy, I was fortunate enough to have a couple of seminars that discussed two of my favorite topics–sci-fi and comics. And my instructor for this best day of non-school ever–Will Shetterly.

     Cut to the a comic convention a few months later (FALLCON!) where I was able to find and purchase the original CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY series(and two specials which we “re-dos” of the first two issues as both Shetterly and Stones work evolved over the course of the series), and it was not too long after that the second series came out. I was in CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY heaven. The stories were mature and thought-provoking, and the art was inspiring. On top of all of that, it came out of Minnesota!   As a young kid seeing anything in comic form from Minnesota was amazing and validating, and seeing something as brilliant as CAP be born here solidified for me making comics was more than just a pipe dream–it was a potential reality.
       So yes, I grew up. I never gave up on comics. I kept drawing and writing. I may not be a big name but I derive no greater joy in life than when I’m immersed in my world of making comics–be it the ones I make for the self-publishing/mini-comics/blogging world, or the ones I even occasionally get paid for.  All my grown-up friends are not only great people, but they are also cartoonists I met through a group started right here in Minneapolis– the International Cartoonist Conspiracy– and who I get to play with via the medium of jam comics, collaborations, and anthologies.
    And I feel I owe a great debt to Will and Vince and CAPTAIN CONFEDERACY (and MATT FEAZELL!) for all this happening.
   So thanks fellas, I appreciate everything.

Oh…I suppose I should compare and contrast before we go…heres my cover next to Vince’s original. See ya’ll tomorrow.

4 Responses to “MISC: EXPLOSIVE neighborhood news and Captain Confederacy #1 (un)covered”


  1. 06/23/2009 at 14:24

    Thanks for the plug for ANT BOY! I still have copies for sale of the two Ant Boy comic books that SteelDragon published, collecting all the Captain Confederacy backups plus some perplexing filler pages. Find the online catalog at http://www.cynicalman.com.

    And just to set the record straight, the Mayor in the house is not me… it’s my wife, Karen Majewski

    • 06/23/2009 at 15:17

      Thanks for writing in Matt!
      I’ve had my ANT BOY comics for years (and in fact got you to sign one at the MN comic convention FALLCON years ago) and enjoy them a lot. So it’s up to YOU–whoever it is that’s not Matt or me reading this–to go to the link above and buy ANT BOY for yourself!
      And–D’OH!–sorry about the factoid mix-up. Its been corrected, and I promise I’ll never state a fact based on hear-say again!
      …until possibly tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


