20
Jun
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pin-ups–MIKE TOFT

MT#2-Toft

      The second pin-up from issue two is from MIKE TOFT (http://www.cartoonistconspiracy.com/brainfood/) who does a great mini-comic called BRAIN FOOD, and is an old tried and true friend of the STAPLEGENIUS empire.

     Back in 2000(or 2001, it’s kinda fuzzy) when the mini-comics I was putting out were in fact just called STAPLEGENIUS, Mike was the first(only) person to send me both a letter of praise, and his BRAIN FOOD  comics as a “trade”(I was just leaving STAPLEGENIUS at stores around town for free).  Mike suggested in his letter(yes, an actual letter! Remember those?) that even though there were appearantly some other zinester and mini-comic people in town, no one really knew anyone and perhaps we should meet up and talk shop.

     And so we did! In fact, we met up at SPYHOUSE COFFEE in Uptown–a place we’d continue to meet up at occasionally for the next year and a half or so until it went on to be the first official home of the INTERNATIONAL CARTOONIST CONSPIRACY. In fact, it was Mike who gave me the heads-up that the Conspiracy was forming to begin with and who I have to thank for insuring that I’ve been a proud Conspirator since day one.  

    Mike and I also always seem to end up sitting next to each other at every MN comic convention–and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    And while there is a link above for some of his work at the Conspiracy site, Mike is working on prepping his stuff for a BRAIN FOOD website all of his own, and I can’t wait!   When its up and running I’ll let you know it’s address

 

.

    Wow, Mike…look at us: from actual hand-written letters and photocopied mini-comics done on our own to the giant and wonderful comraderie of the Cartoonist Conspiracy and the magical world wide web.  My how we’ve grown.

   Thanks Mike!

1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pin-ups–MIKE TOFT”


  1. 07/15/2009 at 21:26

    Hey Danno / Staplegenius / Dank,

    Thanks for putting this up. Ah it takes me back. I actually like it, which is not my usual reaction to my old stuff. So that’s progress.

    See you in the “Big Funny” papers.

    Later,

    Mike-T


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


