07
Jun
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pg 6

  

pg 6

pg 6

  

    To Be Continued…    
     As I mentioned a few days ago, there were a few common misconceptions by people when I started doing MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE:
 
    1) I was ripping-off SOUTH PARK with Atlantis Lad (see https://staplegenius.wordpress.com/2009/06/03/manly-tales-of-cowardice-issue-two-pg-2/ for more on this), and…
 
     2) I was a fan of/ripping off VENTURE BROS. (http://www.adultswim.com/shows/venturebros/index.html)
      OK, full disclosure: Yes, I HAD seen an episode of VENTURE BROS before I started doing MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–AN episode. ONE.
     In fact it was probably the first or second episode, and it was probably the first time that particular episode had ever aired. See, I don’t watch broadcast TV and this was during a kinda dark time in my life when I was going thru a break-up and crashing at a friends, and said friend had cable.
    OH! And I was REALLY, REALLY, REALLY drunk when I saw it.
    In fact when the VENTURE BROS connection was first brought to my attention it took me a minute to conjure up any memory of the show, and all that I did remember was this:
    It was a weird JOHNNY QUEST kinda thing, and Patrick Warburton voiced the tough guy.
    That’s it.
    But clearly there is a quasi-similarity between MANLY TALES and VENTURE BROS in that they are both “adventure” parodies, and they both carve out their own worlds within that kind of setting.  So with issue two I felt it was important to make the SOUTH PARK/VENTURE BROS comparisons moot by tackling the issues head on.
     And so, in addition to what will amount to an Atlantis Lad origin,  we have THE FLEMING FORCE FOUR–a fun way of paying acknowledgement to my contemporaries, and by the end of the story settling (at least in my mind) that’s not what MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE is. Its not a VENTURE BROS or SOUTH PARK knock-off. It is it’s own thing. And it’s awesome! (Again, in my mind at least.)
     Oh…and full disclosure #2: Since doing this issue I have seen (and own) VENTURE BROS seasons 1 and 2. When I get a job again I’m buying season 3. It is a hilariously beautiful show, and I now take in stride that anyone would compare my work to it.  Jackson Publick and Doc Hammer have quite a gem on their hands, and I’m so glad they are able to share it with the world. 
     Although, in watching it I realized how unavoidable some things are when you dwell in a adventure/comedy universe.  I had planned out issue six shortly before I saw any of the VENTURE BROS DVDs, and then a plot device for one of the season one episodes(and series as a whole) turned out to be the exact same plot device I was going to use. I debated radically changing issue six (and by extension a chunk of the MANLY TALES mythos) but decided similarities or not it was DIFFERENT ENOUGH, and that’s OK. After all, wasn’t that point of doing issue two?
    Yes…yes it was….
   
     I’ll stop talking to myself now.
1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pg 6”


  1. 06/14/2009 at 06:32

    actually, that is pretty rad. your stuff totally reads and feels different. it never occurred to me to compare it Venture bros.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


