03
Jun
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pg 2

pg 2

pg 2

      …To Be Continued….

     Yep. One page today. But what a BIG REVEAL!
     In the event you’re new to the series and read the last couple MANLY TALES and wondered how it was Atlantic Lad kept dying and then kept showing up, this story *MIGHT* explain that.  (SPOILER ALERT: Ok, it does.)
     There were a couple of key criticisms(comparisons to other comics/shows/etc)  I got about MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE after the first issue that I knew I had to deal with right away. The first of which is Atlantis Lad.
    Obviously, if you have a character who keeps dying and coming back the accusations that you’re just stealing from SOUTH PARK’s Kenny is inevitable.  I think the key difference between Atlantis Lad and Kenny is while both are killed off repeatedly for comic effect, Atlantis Lad has a REASON he keeps coming back thats not just a play on the status quo of cartoons. Yes, I have a PLAN for Atlantis Lad. And While this won’t even really start to come into play until issue seven, the many deaths of Atlantis Lad will have an over-all effect on the entire series and the world these characters inhabit. For all I know Kennys deaths eventually meant/lead to something, but frankly I’ve only seen the first couple of seasons of SOUTH PARK and a handful of later episodes.
     Yes, SOUTH PARK is a good show, but no, I am not “ripping it off”.
3 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue two–pg 2”


  1. 06/03/2009 at 09:52

    I knew you weren’t ripping off South Park… you’re ripping off Get a Life with Chris Elliot!

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Get_a_Life_(TV_series)

    I would guess there are older examples of this always hilarious gag too… South Park is such a cultural phenomenon, it kind of ruined it for everyone else, though.

    I read a while ago that John Kricfalusi was angry at South Park for using a talking poo when he was convinced he was the lone gunman who had invented this brilliant concept. I know I’ve seen shit talking going back a lot farther than either of those examples, including in my own work.

    To sum it up, it ain’t the schtick, it’s what you do with it.

  2. 06/03/2009 at 10:04

    HA! I’d completely forgotten about GET A LIFE, though I don’t think he died in every episode, did he?

    And I realize there are lots of ways to reuse the same gag, I just a couple of things I needed to clear up early on in the series, and the many deaths of Atlantis Lad topped that list.


Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


