30
May
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue one–pin-ups–Bob Lipski

by: Bob Lipski

by: Bob Lipski

    When I was planning/working on the first issue of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE I knew that I really wanted to include artists from the vast cartooning community we have here in Minneapolis/St Paul–many of whom I’m lucky enough to call friends, and almost all of whom I met through the International Cartoonist Conspiracy (www.cartoonistconspiracy.com). 

    My plan was to include in each issue pin-ups by local artists, and in some cases back-up features. BOB LIPSKI (www.uptowngirlcomic.com) came out blasting with BOTH for issue one.

    The pin-up above was done during FREE COMIC BOOK DAY 2007 at Jimmy Jam Comics(RIP) in Rochester, MN. Bob, myself, and a few other writers and artists were on hand to meet the fans(not of us, obviously) and do $1.oo sketches–with all the profits going to the Rochester Public Library to buy more comics. So, yes. I had to pay for Bob’s pin-up, but it was worth it.

    I do however know for a fact Bob would have done the pin-up for free. How do I know this–cause Bob actually did the back-up stories for the first TWO issues of MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE.

    The back-up story for issue one was a TOMMY CHICAGO tale by Bob and BRIAN BASTIAN (www.tommychicago.com), and goes towards explaining issue one’s cover ( https://staplegenius.wordpress.com/2009/05/18/manly-tales-of-cowardice-issue-one/mt1-cover-grey/)  …you know, in case you read the whole thing and thought: “Wait…wasn’t TOMMY CHICAGO supposed to be guest-starring?” which I know none of you did.  I specifically commissioned the TC tale since it was at the time my favorite mini-comic. My second favorite mini-comic was Bob’s UPTOWN GIRL, and he did one of those tales for issue two.

    Thanks again Bob (and Brian)!

1 Response to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue one–pin-ups–Bob Lipski”


  1. 05/31/2009 at 10:15

    We do have a vast comic community, don’t we. Which reminds me, I owe you a pin-up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


