18
May
09

MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue one–cover and pg 1

 

MTOC #1 cover

MTOC #1 cover

pg 1

pg 1

 
    To Be Continued….
   Here we go with MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE issue one, which is actually the second official chapter in the MANLY TALES saga. 
    I was really unsure if I should include and post this story. See, MANLY TALES began in the late part of 2006 when I thought up the name and the cast and did a dry-run test of MANLY TALES as a 24-Hour Comic (and THAT story will never, EVER be posted. It never happened as far as I’m concerned). Within a couple of days of that 24 Hour Comic I began pencilling the pages for MANLY TALES #1.  My goal was to turn out the book (and the series) fast–drawing it small and hurried and in the quickened style of a  24 comic. I even drew issue one on a pad of yellow legal paper–not a lot of effort went into it.
    I began inking within a couple days, and within a couple more days having completed over half the book I gave up.
    I hadn’t really done a finished design for the characters, and the feathered way I was originally drawing Fleming’s facial hair just looked awful. I thought I could fudge it, but the more I looked at the 24 Hour book and the pages for issue one that I had completed, the more I knew Fleming couldn’t carry the weight of a book–not with the awful design I had given his face.
   So  I gave up on drawing MANLY TALES.
  
    Several months went by.
    I began reading/researching the work of Bruce Timm in early 2007.  Just staring at his work for a few weeks really opened my mind up on how character design should be done—SIMPLISTIC AS POSSIBLE!
   Shortly after that I began drawing the MANLY TALES team again, and found the simplified Fleming facial SWOOSH! that you see in the FREE COMIC BOOK DAY story and on the cover for issue one.   I thought the pages for issue one were unsalvagable, so thats why I moved on and completed the FCBD story first.  When that was done my plan was to go back and completely re-do issue one from scratch.
   
     ….but then that laziness kicked in again….
   
     So instead I left the finshed pages as they were (since they did a pretty excellent job of setting up the MANLY TALES universe), except I went in and whited-out and re-did all of the Fleming heads.  This didn’t work out so well.  When we get to page 16 you will see a noted difference where the whited-out redos end and the new style begins.  And its kind of a bumpy journey up to that point.
    I realize these probably aren’t the kind of things someone trying to build a fanbase should point out, but I’m just being honest—YES, the art kinda sucks at first.  But guess what?–It grows by leaps and bounds with every story…cause thats what good art does–it GROWS!
   Plus the writing is pretty good too, no matter what it looks like.
    Lemme know what you think.
4 Responses to “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE–issue one–cover and pg 1”


  1. 05/18/2009 at 13:44

    The writing is good. I do agree! : ) Cool story on the progression of the characters and comic by the way. I wish more artists explained their processes and pointed out their **** ups. It makes the artist seem more human.

  2. 05/18/2009 at 14:18

    Thanks Dan.
    Its most certainly my plan to do a “directors commentary” with warts and all exposed in these posts.

    I don’t know that many people will read all my blah-blahs, but I wanted to make it available for at least someone like you (and other comic artists) who all go thru their own personal hells getting their stuff made.

    Comics is such a solitary process, but I think we all go thru things like not fully thinking out every aspect (even obvious ones like character designs) when we get caught up in the joy of creation. I just want to share these growing/learning experiences with like-minded folk, even if it is 2 years after the fact.

  3. 05/18/2009 at 16:02

    You’re your own Wayne Boring on Kirby’s heads.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Archives


