09
Feb
10

UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pgs 4-6(of 60), also: “Continuity Guy and Gronk”, and “Ted Mysterioso, Jr.”

The UPTOWN GIRL vs TOMMY CHICAGO vs MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE crossover from 2008 was written by BRIAN BASTIAN, pencilled (and inked) by BOB LIPSKI, and inked (and pencilled) by me.   Brian and Bob are here to join me for some reflections on this project:

BRIAN BASTIAN:  I think the most difficult part for me when I’m writing Fleming and crew is coming up with the name of a treasure that they’re looking for.  I suppose I could focus on the paranormal investigation aspect that they’re apparently involved in, but then I couldn’t complain.   I used to know what the poster was supposed to say.  I typed something out in bablefish and had it translated, but when I tried to translate it back for this, it didn’t make a lot of sense.  I think it was something along the lines of vandalism and leaving a bunch of dead fish boys lying around.

BOB LIPSKI:  I LOVE Fleming Hazmat.  I love everything about Danno’s comic. It’s hilarious, the characters are hilarious and it just has this rich…weirdness to it. I think the idea of an endless supply of Atlantis Lads is one of the more brilliant ideas Danno has had. I wish I could pull off the high contrasting black and white world Danno draws. Anyway, this whole damn comic was written by Brian. I’ve known Brian longer than….almost anyone else and we started working on a comics together about ten years ago. Up till he started collaborating with Danno, I had drawn every comic he wrote, so it was a little weird to read something he wrote that I didn’t draw. Brian is a great writer, I’m almost amazed how he can pull off writing the squeaky clean adventures of ‘Uptown Girl’ and the weird, twisted, cynical world of ‘Tommy Chicago’ often in the same week.

DANNO KLONOWSKI:   Bob just made me blush…anyway…like he said I had just started working with Brian during this time.  We had done MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE #4 together and were hatching plans to have me draw the second series of TOMMY CHICAGO.  I think I mentioned this on some other post somewhere, but I love working with Brian.  We share such a similar sense of humor in our writing styles, and it’s great having someone who shares your voice.  All I ever have to “correct” with Brian on any of his Manly Tales scripts (outside of the spelling) is minor continuity.  He nails everybodys voice perfectly.  And like Bob says, he does the same with Uptown Girl.  Thats a great gift.  You should hire him today.  I’m looking at you, IDW.

  ALSO:  This weeks CONTINUITY GUY page drawn by BUD BURGY (from a script by me) is beyond words in awesomeness.  I’ll just say it makes a mean wallpaper.  Only 4 more pages to go…  and the a book!…  and then…  Well, as I mentioned before, Bud will be writing a MEATFIST AND GRONK script for me to draw (and I should start posting pages here late summer/early fall 2010).  Anyway, I’ve been so excited by this project that I did a for-funzies pin-up of Meaty and Gronk over the weekend:

   I should note there are no spoiler alerts up there.  I have no idea what EXACTLY Bud has planned yet, but I know it’ll be great.   And now I totally gotta use “TUMBLEWEED” in something…

   FINALLY:  Ditko designed this guy, right?  It’s gotta be freaking Ditko.  No one else would put a fishbowl on a freaking super villain except for Ditko.  That’s just nuts.

 


0 Responses to “UG v. TC v. MTOC–by Bastian, Lipski, and Dank–pgs 4-6(of 60), also: “Continuity Guy and Gronk”, and “Ted Mysterioso, Jr.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

STAPLEGENIUS.COM(ics)–Danno Klonowski’s confusing and backwards home for “MANLY TALES OF COWARDICE” and much, much more

Categories

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

